Chair of Board St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group

Conall O’Halloran

Conall O’Halloran has been appointed  Chair of the Board of St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group (SVHG), incorporating St. Vincent’s University Hospital (SVUH), St. Michael’s Hospital (SMH), Dun Laoghaire and St. Vincent’s Private Hospital (SVPH).   Mr. O’Halloran succeeds James Menton, who has retired as Chair following almost  nine years service.

Paul W. Lynch, founder of PL Active Management Limited, a strategic advisory firm in Mergers & Acquisitions and Business Transformation  and Orlaith Blaney, Director of Corporate Affairs at Uisce Éireann have also been appointed to the Board, following the recent retirement of Mr. Gerard Flood.

SVHG is one of the largest independent healthcare groups in Ireland, with 6,000 staff across the  three hospitals in the Group.

Conall O’Halloran joined the SVHG Board in October 2021. He is a former partner in KPMG where he acted as lead audit partner for a number of large Irish and UK listed public companies.  He is also Chair of the Audit Committee of the Irish Universities Association.

He said, “A priority for the Board will be the transfer and integration of maternity services from Holles Street to a new purpose-built hospital at SVHG, while our ‘Strategy 2030’ will see new investment in all our hospitals and facilities for the benefit of all patients. Critical will be expanding capacity to treat more patients in our hospitals which will be achieved by increasing bed capacity, including critical care beds, developing new operating theatres and procedure rooms and investing in new diagnostic equipment.  

“The Board is also committed to providing a work environment where all our staff are supported to achieve a work-life balance while also achieving their career goals. As an academic teaching group, we will continue our important role in training and developing the next generation of healthcare professionals while continuing to attract and retain staff with specialist skills.”

SVHG said that during James Menton’s  tenure, he oversaw substantive transformational and historic changes at the Group, including the transfer of ownership by the Religious Sisters of Charity to St Vincent’s Holdings, CLG, (SVH CLG), the implementation of new governance structures and the agreement to relocate the National Maternity Hospital, Holles Street to the SVHG campus on Merrion Road as well as more recent developments in the expansion of the Merrion campus (including Caritas). “As Chair of SVHG he also oversaw significant investment in the Group’s hospitals including the development of SVPH and substantial growth in its enterprise value over the period as well as the expansion of services provided, through the Nutley Wing, for our Cystic Fibrosis and Oncology patients.”

The current Board Members are, Conall O’Halloran, Chair, Orlaith Blaney, Paul W. Lynch. John Compton, Chief Executive of the Regional Health and Social Care Board in Northern Ireland from 2009 to 2014, Ann Hargaden, Investment director in Lisney for over 20 years, Dr. John Holian, Consultant Nephrologist at SVUH and Associate Professor at the School of Medicine and Medical Science, UCD, Myles Lee, former Group Chief Executive of CRH plc, Dr. Rhona Mahony, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist and Specialist in Maternal and Fetal medicine, Nicola McCracken, Head of Group Human Resources at DCC plc,  Imelda Reynolds, Chair and Partner of Beauchamps Solicitors  and Mark Ryan, Country Managing Director of Accenture in Ireland between 2005 and 2014.