HomeNewsAppointments to CervicalCheck Tribunal

Appointments to CervicalCheck Tribunal

Health Minister, Stephen Donnelly has announced that. Ms. Justice Ann Power, who is a serving judge of the Court of Appeal and Mr. Justice Tony O’Connor, who is a serving judge of the High Court, have agreed to serve as members of the CervicalCheck Tribunal.

They will join Mr. Justice Brian McGovern, who is a retired judge of the Court of Appeal and was previously identified for appointment.

Ms. Justice Power, will be chairperson of the Tribunal.

The Minister said: “The Tribunal will allow women to progress their cases in a sensitive manner. I want to thank all three judges for taking on these roles and look forward to engaging with them.”

The Minister also said the CervicalCheck Steering Committee would be reconvened.
“I intend to appoint an independent chair to that group, as soon as a suitable candidate can be identified. A meeting of the Steering Committee will be convened in the near future,” he said.