HomeNewsTotal of 120 Primary Care Centres now open

Total of 120 Primary Care Centres now open

Minister for Health Simon Harris TD officially opened Celbridge Primary Care Centre in Co. Kildare this week, saying that the centre shows how “that the move toward primary and community care is becoming a reality.”

There are now 120 operational PCCs around the country, and the Minister noted that even as he was officially opening the Celbridge facility, another centre in Carrick-on-Suir, Co. Tipperary, had become operational. He said a total of 12 centres had become operational so far in 2018 and a further seven were scheduled to become operational by the end of the year.

Centres that Became Operational to date in 2018

Sligo Ballymote* CHO 1
Mayo Ballinrobe CHO 2
Mayo Claremorris CHO 2
Mayo Westport CHO 2
Roscommon Boyle CHO 2
Limerick Limerick City – Ballinacurra / Weston / Lord Edward Street CHO 3
Wexford Wexford Town CHO 5
Kildare Kilcock CHO 7
Dublin Cashel Road/Walkinstown (Crumlin) CHO 7
Dublin Grangegorman CHO 9
Dublin Coolock (Coolock South Combined with Coolock North Darndale) CHO 9

*Not fully operational

To Open for the Remainder of 2018

Dublin Kilnamanagh/Tymon (Junction House) CHO 7
Louth Drogheda North CHO 8
Waterford Dungarvan CHO 5
Waterford Waterford City (East) CHO 5
Cork Knocknaheeny Fairhill Gurranebraher City centre (Cork City North West) CHO 4
Offaly Tullamore CHO 8
Dublin NE Inner City Summerhill CHO 9


Expected To Open in 2019

Kerry Tralee CHO 4
Cork Newmarket CHO 4
Cork Carrigtowhill CHO 4
Dublin Baggot Street / Sandymount (Royal Hospital Donnybrook Temp Accommodation) CHO 6
Dublin Rialto/The Coombe CHO 7