HomeMay 2016Department Management Board

Department Management Board

The Department of Health now has an 11 member Management Board, consisting of the Secretary General, two Deputy Secretaries, six Assistant Secretaries, a Chief Medical Officer and a Chief Nursing Officer.

Jim Breslin
Jim Breslin

The Management Board is headed up by Secretary General, Jim Breslin. Deputy Secretaries are Colm O’Reardon, who is in charge of policy and strategy and Pat O’Mahony, who is responsible for governance and performance.

The Assistant Secretaries are Tracey Conroy, who is responsible for acute care, Fergal Goodman, who is in charge of primary care, Frances Spillane who looks after social care and disabilities, Teresa Cody who is responsible for national HR, Muiris O’Connor who is responsible for research and development and health analytics and Greg Dempsey who is in charge of finance and evaluation.

Dr. Tony Holohan is Chief Medical Officer and Dr. Siobhan O’Halloran is Chief Nursing Officer.